Lucecapades! Welcome to our world..


Baby school dropouts
January 12, 2009, 8:29 pm
Filed under: babygonzo!, Bellly Shots, mr. and mrs.

Sam and I paid a small fortune to attend a baby birthing class on Saturday and unfortunately it didn’t really turn out all that well.  Not only were we the only couple that did not bring the required materials (a pillow and blanket?  who knew?), we also decided to sneak out during the lunch break and skip out on the afternoon session.  I think this means we failed the pre-test for parenthood.  Let’s hope the real deal goes a little smoother and that we don’t grow as bored with our real baby as we did watching videos of other people’s babies.  Although we didn’t get the full day’s worth of material, we were present for the much anticipated birthing video (and poster sized pictures!).  Needless to say, I think I am much more anxious about labor now than I was beforehand.  I think truly in this case, ignorance is bliss, and now I have been ruined by my knowledge!  The visuals, they are not pretty.  Eek.

Speaking of visuals, here is the glorious, six weeks to go, belly shot:

34 weeks and counting!

34 weeks and counting!

Can you believe that I have only SIX weeks left until this little sucker is supposed to pop out?  I am starting to really feel third trimester pregnant as my back and hips are starting to bug me if I’m up for too long.  Other than that though, the pregnancy is still going swimmingly..  After those initial four months of nausea and nasty hormone swings, things have really been relatively easy.  Now I just can’t wait to get the little guy here and get rid of all this extra weight I’m carrying around!  Sam and I were just fathoming last night how crazy it seems to us that there will actually be another little person living in our house from now on, rather than just the two of us that we’ve grown accustomed to.  I think that there is something that is kind of sad and scary about losing that coupledom that we love so much, but at the same time I know that what we will be gaining will only make things that much more sweeter.  It’s just so hard to wrap my mind around the idea of having another thing in my life to love so much.  I can’t wait to see what it’s like in reality.

In the meantime, while waiting for the eminent arrival, we’ve been occupying ourselves with putting together the nursery.  Sam has been the awesome handyman that has done ALL of the painting, putting togethering, etc. that has been required.  Things are really coming together!  I can’t wait for the final product to be totally ready.  Here are a few pictures of what we have so far:

New crib!

New crib!

Rocking chair from when I was a baby.

Rocking chair from when I was a baby.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I still can’t believe that you’re REALLY going to have a baby in six weeks!! I’m so happy for y’all – you look great!! :)

Comment by Hailey

That’s some awesome painting!

Comment by HC

That is the cutest little pregnant girl I have ever seen!

Comment by Donna Turner

Don’t get too comfortable with the idea of 6 more weeks, as we all know what happened to me :)

I love your new crib! Can’t wait to see Baby Gonzo in it!

Comment by Karen Wallace




Leave a Reply

